Favorite Friday: Songs

As previously mentioned, I’m leaving for Vacation Part II today (LA and Disneyland with Rob’s family). So once again I may be absent on my blog until I’m back on Thursday but I’ll make sure to come up with some blog topics while I’m gone.

Favorites Friday: Song lyrics

This weeks Favorites Friday was inspired by Spotify, a website/app that seems to be a hybrid between itunes and youtube. To my knowledge and research, it is completely legal because it doesn’t allow you to “download” the songs, it just allows you to catalog them and make playlists. Anywho, it is my new BFF at work and I’ve been listening to such a wide range of music, there were some song lyrics I felt needed to be shared. (Most of these are on Itunes top 100 and play on the radio)

If you click on the photos, it links to a youtube video, if you want to listen to the song!

1. Song with a catchy metaphor:
Stereo Hearts – Gym Class Heroes feat. Adam Levine

The song references himself as a record and a boombox, I think it’s clever and well thought out. But that could just be me.

“My heart’s a stereo
It beats for you, so listen close
Hear my thoughts in every note
Make me your radio
Turn me up when you feel low
This melody was meant for you
Just sing along to my stereo”

2. Song with cringe-worthy lyrics but the catchiest tune:
Better with the Lights off – New Boyz.

Any song with “Shawty” is always a winner. And yes they managed to be entirely offensive and have an Obama reference.

“I’m so happy you’re mine, so beautiful
Top of the line, so unusual
Now I think it’s time, hey Shawty
I hope you don’t take this the wrong way
Girl you look better with the lights off,
Better with the lights off ooh

Obama your clothes girl
I’d make a change
To your lingerie, right like that”

3. Song with beautiful imagery:
Man who Can’t be Moved – The Script

The Script is one of my favorite bands because all their songs have the most beautiful lyrics. This song says it all.

“Some try to hand me money, they don’t understand
I’m not broke I’m just a brokenhearted man
I know it makes no sense, but what else can I do?
How can I move on when I’m still in love with you?

‘Cause if one day you wake up and find that you’re missing me
And your heart starts to wonder where on this earth I could be
Thinking maybe you’ll come back here to the place that we’d meet
And you’d see me waiting for you on the corner of the street”

4. Song for a break up:
Best Thing I Never Had – Beyonce
For the ladies who have had their heart broken, Beyonce does this power ballad some good.

“I wanted you bad
I’m so through with it
Cuz honestly you turned out to be
The best thing I never had
You turned out to be the best thing I never had
And I’m gon’ always be the best thing you never had
I bet it sucks to be you right now”

5. Song that makes you smile:
I Want You – Cee-Lo

Cee-Lo is one of the most underrated artists. His album the Lady Killer is one of my favorite CDs of all time. This song is 1 of my favorites, it’s catchy but oh so sweet too

” Oh one world to find a lady
That happens to be three times the lady
God is good
But he took his time when he designed you baby
That’s why I want you.
Oh I’ll even quit my job
Lovin’ you, I’ll make it my job
Thank you Lord, thank you lord
This is it, My god!
That’s why I want you”
Hope you enjoyed my song selection! 🙂 Happy Friday all!
Thank you so much for commenting! I read ALL comments and I truly treasure every single one! :)

