Simply Loving: HEARTing Handmade’s Better Than Ice Cream

Happy Sunday loves!

Today I’m incredibly happy to introduce one of my friends in the blogging world, Maša! I loved her complete honesty in her Secret Week posts and she has a passion for reading, just like me! Maša’s sharing an amazing vegan dessert all the way from Slovenia and I’d love for you all to show her some love!

Hi! My name is Maša and I’m blogging over HEARTing Handmade. I’ve been drooling over Evani’s recipes of her tempting desserts and she inspired me to post one of my favorite recipes for the summer time. Thank you so much for hosting me, Evani!

You’re gonna love it and you will be making it again and again. Both omnivores and raw vegans will enjoy it.

It’s incredibly simple

It contains only 3 ingredients.

It’s so delicious you won’t believe it’s actually healthy

Who doesn’t love ice cream? I could eat it all the time. But… it’s full of sugar and fat. I’m also lactose intolerant which makes me regret devouring this guilty pleasure even more. But I’ve discovered a perfect replacement. When I first tried it, I couldn’t believe that something made only from fruit and cacao could taste like ice cream. This revelation was probably one of the happiest moments in my life. I may be crazy, but I’m not joking! 🙂

Instructions
For 4 people, you will need about:
4 ripe bananas (the ripest the better)
4 medjool dates (they are extra big and sweet, double the amount if you use the regular, small variety)
3 spoons unsweetened cacao (not the processed one for making drinks)
– 1 spoon coconut flour (optional)
1. Cut bananas into slices, put them in an air-tight container and freeze. I usually freeze them overnight, but several hours would probably be enough. It’s a good idea to freeze bananas when you can’t eat them fast enough and use the frozen slices whenever you feel like eating ice cream on a hot day.
2. Soak dates in a cup of water for a few hours (de-stone and cut them first).
3. Thaw the bananas a little and prepare your food processor.
4. Mix the bananas, dates and several spoons of water. I used the water in which the dates were soaking, about 1/3 cup, but you can use less water if you want more ice-creamy texture.
5. Add cacao and mix again.
6. Optional: experiment! You can add coconut flour or try out other ingredients like dry fruit, chocolate drops or spices. Banana + dates + cacao is the main recipe which you can mix and match as your heart desires. I like to work with what I find in the pantry and I’ve always been satisfied with the final combination. If you prefer it bitter, add more cacao. If you have a sweet tooth, add more dates.
I hope you will like the recipe. Next time you’re craving something sweet, try to choose a healthier alternative. It will be just as delicious and you won’t have to deal with guilty feelings afterwards.  🙂

Find Maša here! BlogFacebook/ Bloglovin/ Twitter/ Pinterest

I love how that dessert sounds DELICIOUS and heathy! Thanks for stopping by today Maša, you rock! Make sure to check out her links above, she is a total sweetheart!

On a somewhat related note, I’m slowly coming to the realization that I might be lactose intolerant. I’ve never really done well with milk but I feel like lately I’ve been having a reaction to cheese (which is basically my FAVORITE thing in the world). For those of you who are lactose intolerant, how did you know? Have you always had it or did you grow into it?

So I know I might have totally did promise to write a weekend entry about No Reply Blogging and I’m still working on it! I don’t like to make broken promises so I won’t make it a habit! 🙂

Happy end of the weekend (meh… haha)!

20 thoughts on “Simply Loving: HEARTing Handmade’s Better Than Ice Cream

    • I must admit I didn’t ask myself if dates are actually available everywhere. but I think it would be also great with resins or some other dried fruit (I have to try it). I also like combination (not frozen) banana + avocado + cacao. I sometimes mix frozen bananas with other frozen fruit, but the final result isn’t as sweet without dates.

  1. LOVE your blog Evani!! 🙂 I am partially lactose intolerant. I ate a lot of dairy products growing up and about a year or two ago I was getting intense stomach cramps after eating products with milk such as cheese and ice cream. I talked to my doctor and she suggested trying the lactase enzyme pills or using lactose-free products like Lactaid milk. The milk is a little on the sweeter side (some say) but I don’t know the difference when I buy it. You just pop the pill whenever you eat something with milk and they come in individual packages so super easy to transport! I don’t use it all the time, but when I do, I notice a difference! Also, I learned in an NPB class that humans are born lactose tolerant so they can drink mother’s milk with no issue, but it is normal for people to become lactose intolerant because they no longer require mother’s milk!

  2. Awesome recipe! I wonder if it’s possible to find dates anywhere close to where I live? Might have to check out the produce at Whole Foods, but it’ll be worth the look to try this!

  3. Pingback: Mani Monday: Set In Stones II & a Giveaway! | Simply Evani

  4. First, Evani, thank you so much for this opportunity and thanks everyone for your lovely comments! ^_^

    Second, it seems that more and more people are realizing that they are lactose intolerant. Not everyone has intolerance from birth and I know a few people that used to be intolerant but aren’t anymore. I realized this when I started to observe how my body responds to certain nutrients. I personally think that too much food nowadays contains dairy products and there is some proved research that too much animal products intake can have undesired effects on human health (i. e. China Study). We’ve all been thought in school how healthy milk is, but today’s research is turning in a different direction …
    However, I try to use alternative products like rice milk or I search for lactose-free labels in the dairy section. I’ve also realized that some dishes with milk make me quite ill (like pancakes), but others only slightly annoy my stomach (like instant cappuccino). BTW, I’ve heard that almond milk is the most similar to human milk. 🙂

Thank you so much for commenting! I read ALL comments and I truly treasure every single one! :)

