Finding joy in the Everyday

Happy Thursday loves!

I cannot get over the wonderful and thoughtful responses I got on my blog yesterday, seriously it floors me everyday that I have people even remotely interested in my life. I appreciate every single response and while I’m cutting back on fanatically replying to every comment, I will definitely be responding to you all on that one. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart!

Last night, despite having to a long to do list, Rob and I ventured to Davis for Farmers Market after work (I think Rob’s still trying to cheer me up from my monthly slump because I know farmers markets aren’t his favorite thing in the world). I attended UC Davis for my undergrad and every time I go back to visit, my heart hurts a little. Davis is the only other “city” I’ve ever lived in besides Sacramento/Elk Grove and it’s full of SO many wonderful memories of college. And Farmers Market was one of my FAVORITE things about living in Davis. I used to stop by for my Market Salad after class every Wednesday so Rhonda, the woman who worked there gave me her cell phone number and I would call her when I was on my way so that she would make sure to set aside my salad for me!

The Market Salad from Monticello Bistro = BEST SALAD EVER.

Wednesdays are Picnic in the Park nights, lots to do for families, see all those bounce houses for kids in the back?

DIY Giftbags

After grabbing a few brews with our friend Chris, we ventured home to work on my latest project: Gift bags for my Mom. My Mom is a principal and for staff appreciation, I hand-make bags for her to give her staff. I didn’t plan on posting about it on the blog (not really sure why I wouldn’t but that’s why the picture quality is AWESOME sucky) so I didn’t take process pictures but I’m happy with how they turned out!

I started with stamping the bags, then painting a design using the stamp as a frame. The black paint is actually chalkboard paint written on with chalk marker. I free handed all the names and designs. I love the sheen of chalkboard paint, it really makes black pop. I dressed up the tags with some washi tape and used a stamp to say Thank You. There’s a million more things I wanted to do but with a few hours, making 11 bags that was all I managed before climbing into bed at midnight.

Pardon the blurry picture. And clearly I had Target on my mind last night 😉

Despite being tired, I really do love crafting and making an idea come to life. Rob even stayed to help me with the stamping and although I think that relinquishes most of his man card, I love him for it! ❤

I’m SO excited tomorrow is Friday because that means the weekend is almost here!

Happy Thursday!

15 thoughts on “Finding joy in the Everyday

  1. I just stumbled upon your blog and I love it! Can’t get over that picnic in the park deal. I wish we had something like that in our town. That would be a great way to get a real sense of community going.

  2. Your bags are very lovely. Pink and black are one of my favorite color schemes. My husband wouldn’t admit it, but I think he secretly likes to help me craft projects like that.
    I love the little things like your salad lady as well. I think it’s the things like that that form relationships with people that we may be sometimes to “busy” to notice. A nice older lady at my local sandwich shop always “sneaks” a cookie to my youngest when he is with me. He thinks he pulling one over on mom and I just love it.

  3. We use to visit the Farmer’s Market every weekend during the summer when we lived in the Mid-West… I need to make time to go to them here in Utah 🙂 Love the look the black chalkboard paint gives on the bags! Pretty my friend!

Thank you so much for commenting! I read ALL comments and I truly treasure every single one! :)

