Let’s Get Physical!

Happy Wednesday Lovelies!

So I’m knee deep in planning a birthday party and a baby shower so I promise some new DIYs are coming your way soon. 🙂 I’ll try to make them good, just for you!

But today, I’m not here to talk about sunshine and rainbows. I’m here to acknowledge my utter lack of fitness. I think I’m finally reaching the end of my denial so I’ll start with a few confessions (because being honest is the first step!):

Now here are some facts, things I honestly will have to work to change/work around:

At the end of the day I’m in my early 20s and I’m supposed to be in the best shape of my life. I can’t even IMAGINE how pregnancy will look if I don’t slim down! So fitness is happening, whether I like it or not. It’s time for some (attainable) goals!

So it might seem like a cop out that I don’t include more exercise goals but I want to find ways to enjoy exercise, not feeling forced into it. I don’t want to set myself up for failure and then be too embarrassed to continue. So unofficially, I’m going to attempt to exercise at least 3 times a week! And I’ll swap out fries for veggies more often too, I promise (and not because my taste buds say so, but because my body deserves it!) . Baby steps are steps nonetheless!

In case you’re taking off on a fitness journey too, feel free to grab the button and follow a similar format on your blog (Confessions, Facts and Goals). I’m considering making it a link up for month #2 so we can all rally and support each other, so let me know if you’d even be interested in linking up! I honestly wouldn’t be doing it for a numbers, I’m looking for fellow bloggers to support, get inspired and keep each other motivated. 🙂

Have you set new fitness goals lately? What’s your biggest physical or health challenge?

Happy Hump Day!

23 thoughts on “Let’s Get Physical!

  1. Gurrrll I feel you =) I really do. The trick is finding a form of exercise you really enjoy and doing it regularly. I do yoga, pilates, and boot camp and really love my classes & the friends I’ve made at those classes.
    Also, you mentioned you have flat feet. Have you tried swimming laps? Swimming won’t affect your your feet and you don’t have to worry about sweating. 😉

    As far as eating healthier. There are so many good & healthy salads out there. My current favorite restaurant salads are the Chipotle salad (sans cheese and sour cream) and the Chopped Salad from Pei Wei.

    You can do it! =)

  2. I am so happy for you. I hope you find the journey to fitness is well worth it, take slow, enjoy the joys and pain and remember its about the journey and not really the destination. Small baby steps are better that excessive back steps and u-turns, FORWARD you go!
    S-M-A-R-T goals are awesome too. And know there is a difference between weightloss and fitness but their similarity is healthy habits. NO Ice cream for 30 days, then after 30 days, No ice cream for 60 days, the. After successfully being No ice cream for 60 days then make it for No Ice cream for 90 days….

  3. I will be joining you in September! Once this move is over and one with, I’m getting fit! Husband and I are joining a gym. We can do it together, friend!

  4. Um, confession: I hate exercising and refuse to do so. I don’t remember the last time I saw the inside of a gym. I’d rather go walk around in a mall or shopping area for 4 hours and count that as exercise. Ok, so, this does not help motivate you… SO, I’m going to be super supportive of your goals. #2 is going to be hardest I think, at least for me it would be. I already do try to drink a lot of water and never eat after 9pm. You can do it girl! 🙂

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  5. It is SO hard for me to be healthy…it does not come naturally to me at all, and it’s something I struggle with every day! I would 100x rather grab a big burrito and a bowl of chips and queso than have a grilled chicken salad, but I am trying oh so hard lately. And exercise might be my least favorite thing in the world 😦 I would definitely be into linking up, I need some accountability!

  6. Is there anything other than emotional eating?!
    I’m so with you on all of these, since my husbands health problems started we’ve both gained at least 20# and recently he became vegetarian (for his health issues) and has already lost quite a bit 🙂 I’m cutting down on meat to support him but really need to eat better for myself and exercise!!! After I had the boys I lost a lot of weight doing turbo jam, I know it sounds lame but for me it worked wonders, and I actually stuck to it! However now that they’re older I don’t have much time for it (excuse!!!) but this is a real motivation for me to get started again…..thank you!

  7. Your post title made me sing the song Let’s Get Physical by I can’t remember. Ha!

    Good for you for getting on the healthy track. I know how you feel about the starchy foods. I love bread and potatoes. I love mashed potatoes and have found a great substitute, mashed cauliflower. Just as good and healthy. I actually found purple cauliflower and that made it even more fun.

    Also, I wouldn’t worry about what the scale says. I’ve been learning that. I’ve been running for 7 weeks now and haven’t lost any weight, but I definitely FEEL a lot better and healthier. I’ve even noticed that my back fat lines are starting to disappear. Woo!!!

    And if you ever need a pep talk or something, feel free to email me.

    YOU CAN DO IT!!! *in my water boy voice* lol

  8. Good for you! I’ve started walking 2 miles a day, a couple times a week. That’s about as motivated as I can get, haha. I also hate veggies and love my starches! If I loved veggies, it’d be so much easier!

    I like your idea of baby steps! We can do this!

  9. hahaha we’re on the same boat. I really, really dislike working out (total opposite with Rob. He’s a sports guy). I srsly would rather slum around in my bed when i’m off. Working as a nurse is hardcore. But srsly there’s NO excuse to not workout. I love LOVE love Bikram Yoga, but it’s kinda far for me to go straight from work. And it’s expensive. I have a gym membership that I HARDLY ever use. Sad.

    And I’m with you with eating. It’s an experience. All we talk about at work, especially when I’m in the nurse in CT scans, is FOOD FOOD FOOD. Where’s the best place to eat in this town, etc. Like today, our topic was best breakfast place. dayum.

    But I guess, in order to stay healthy, I must work out to compensate my eating habits. Boo.

    Hence, I’m juicing too. hahaha…

  10. such a brave and honest post, I just wanna hug you. 🙂 I’d love to join your link party! sometimes people assume that I can eat whatever and as much as I want because I’m more or less slim, but it’s not true. however, I would be much more motivated to work out and eat healthy if we would do it together. 🙂

  11. Love, I am so so proud of you, not only for such an honest blog, but for this realization! This is great that you realize how important your health and fitness is. I never liked working out and now that I’ve started, it’s very addictive! I still have the same problems as you.. I don’t drink enough water, don’t eat enough fiber, (and you know I’m a HUGE foodie!) Don’t focus too much on your weight, just focus on eating healthier and maintaining a healthy and [very] active lifestyle. If it helps, I work out partially so I can eat what I want 😉 The more water you drink, the harder you work, the more you’ll sweat, too. I never really sweated until I started working towards my 5K, and after a good sweat it feels great! Also, try out a few different classes or workouts.. Yoga, kickboxing, zumba, bodypump (basic weightlifting techniques taught with upbeat music!), jogging, etc. Try jogging outdoors for more fresh air and (most likely) better scenery. Don’t know where to start? Give the Couch to 5K program a try. It takes non-runners (like you and me) and trains us to run a 5k in two months! Trust me, they know how to ease your way into it so it doesn’t feel THAT hard.

    Good luck love. I’d be more than happy to chat with you more about this… when can we OOVOo?? LOVE YOU LOTS!

      • great advice! I’m also addicted to sports, although I ALWAYS have hard time to come back on track after a pause (I’m still in the phase of “coming back” at the moment, but close to getting addicted again). gotta love after-workout adrenaline. it’s better than drugs. 😛
        I don’t worry about food after workouts (cause muscles need energy).
        I’m sure you’ll find something you’ll enjoy after trying different workouts. It took my like a quarter of century to find THE one.

  12. You’re planning a birthday party and a baby shower at the same time? There’s ‘fitness’ right there! I like your goals, they aren’t too over the top and that you’ve given yourself two months for them is a great idea, hopefully that’s long enough for them to become habits 🙂 I find food preparation and planning very helpful when it comes to eating well. If I have a fruit salad cut up and ready to eat, I’m less likely to pick up a bag of chips. Dips and vegetables are great too – I make heaps of beetroot dip for the week and snack on that. Also, with the water, I keep some at my desk, it’s there, so I drink 🙂 I can’t wait to hear how you go xoxox

  13. Love this entry and format, I love finding other bloggers who need support and making daily changes! Thank you for posting this, this is so motivating. If I have enough time (back in college) I want to do this too 🙂
    You can do it Evani!

  14. Pingback: Blog Angel Reveal and Fitness Link-Up Info! | Simply Evani

  15. Pingback: Let’s Get Physical Link Up! | Simply Evani

Thank you so much for commenting! I read ALL comments and I truly treasure every single one! :)

