Me, Myself and I: 50s girl & Costumes

Happy Tuesday ya’ll!

Joining in with one of my favorite getting-to-know you parties: Me, Myself and I. (Click on the button below to join in!)
First off, I’m a huge believer in the power of a good cry. If the situation calls for it, just let it out. Then I’ll either turn on some Backstreet Boys or flip on an episode of cheesy reality TV. Occasionally I’ll shop out my emotions too (notΒ recommended!).

After spending some time in Carsland in California Adventure, I’m sure that I would be a 50s girl. The retro 50s music in Carsland had me dancing all over the place. Diners, drive in movies, and poodle skirts, YES. Frank Sinata, Dean Martin, Elvis?! The music, fashion, everything was fabulous. Easy.

Carsland! More pics coming soon πŸ™‚

So it wasn’t Halloween but in college, I attended more themed parties than I can count. My favorite one by far? Disney themed party where I was Boo from Monsters Inc.

Sorry for the grainy photo and terrible bangs, clearly my iPhone didn’t exist back then (Blackberry whut whutttt) but this costume was completely made of felt. You know those heavy plastic bags that comforters come in? That’s what the felt is sewn to. Needless to say I was desperately sweating all night (hence the bangs). But well worth it. Thank you Jennifer for helping me construct it! πŸ™‚ And because I can’t end this with just showing you my costume:

For the privacy of my best friends, names will be withheld (especially for the Hunchback, she’s gonna kill me. Love you BESTIE!). For those of you who remember this night, my FAMILY reads this blog and I’ll delete your comment if I have to! Haha πŸ˜‰

1. I CANNOT stand the sound of metal on metal. Rings going down a metal banister = DEATH. It scratches at my soul.
2. As soon as I get home, I have to change into “home clothes”. It’s like an instant stripdown.
3. I am a car sleeper. I can fall asleep crazy fast in the car, within minutes.
4. I am deathly afraid of opening credit lines. I have 1 credit card with a very low limit because I don’t really trust myself with more.
5. I hate wearing shoes. Every chance I get, my shoes are off (If we’re ever having dinner, check under the table, my shoes are probably off). At the same time I LOVE collecting shoes.

Oh wow. I would tell myself to RELISH in the youth. I’d remind myself to take more pictures because you’re going to meet the future love of your life that year (and you never know when they might be in a wedding slideshow πŸ˜‰ ). I would tell myself that college is going to be HARD and that I should probably think a liiiiitle harder about my career path. I’d pat myself on the back for how skinny I was back then. But in the end, I would just tell myself to just keep truckin on, life is going to turn out great!

Can’t believe I was 16 in this picture. Happy to note some of the people in these pictures are still our best friends!

I just adore this link up!

What would you say to your 16 year old self??

Have a great day everyone!

23 thoughts on “Me, Myself and I: 50s girl & Costumes

  1. I love that you love the Backstreet Boys. I listen to them when I’m by myself because no one else in my house appreciates them πŸ™‚ I also change my clothes when I get home. My home clothes are much more comfy!

  2. Haha, I love this. I always change into ‘home clothes’ after work. And, I hate wearing socks. But my feet are always cold. It’s a dilemma in the winter time. I would tell my 16 yr old self… don’t cry about him, you end up with a fabulous husband one day. πŸ™‚

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  3. Awesome costume!
    When I used to wear a ring I would occasionally bang it on light poles because I like the sound and to freak people out into thinking I ran into the pole.
    I also don’t like wearing shoes. Though when I’m at home I wear flip flops around my apartment because I don’t like the way the carpet feels under my feat. Carpet it yuck. Well at least apartment carpet is.

  4. Ooooo,oooO ~ I have tell you about my most creative Halloween costumes. I won 2 best costume that year. I was a cross-dressing, flasher, ugly old man. I had an over coat with raggedy steel toed boots and a pillow on my back for hunch back and a old man mask. Under the coat was a red lingerie with red net stockings. I would slowly walk over and stand next to someone, make eye-contact while hunched down. On eye contact, I stand up and open my coat to flash them….

  5. A good cry is a must… I especially love it when it’s brought on by a sad movie. Is it a Filipino thing to change as soon as we get home? Seriously, every PI I know does it.

  6. Pingback: 1st Link Up!!! Me, Myself, & I……and maybe a few weird moments in between :) | Jazlin's Blog

  7. I enjoyed this so much and your site in general! Thanks for sharing this and showing us your coolness! I love the boo costume, SOOOO ADORABLE and creative!

  8. it was interesting to learn more about you and it’s so cool to see older pictures! I agree that you’re perfect for the 50s, but I’m not sure what would happen to your hair. πŸ˜›
    what would I say to my 16 self? listen to your grandmother! πŸ˜€

  9. Pingback: Friday Letters: Sicky Sick, Bleh. | Simply Evani

  10. I also immediately change into “home clothes” and hate wearing shoes!! And yes, I met my man in high school also πŸ™‚ Sounds like we have a lot in common! Following you back!

Thank you so much for commenting! I read ALL comments and I truly treasure every single one! :)

